In 2021, Taylor University celebrated 175 years since its founding. These exhibits look back on some of the interesting and important parts of Taylor's history and what makes the Taylor experience unique.

Click on an exhibit to begin.

H. Maria Wright Hall
H. Maria Wright Hall

H. Maria Wright Hall

H. Maria Wright Hall, also known as “Old Main,” was the first building constructed on the Upland campus after Taylor’s relocation from Fort Wayne in 1893. Its bricks were made with clay from the area. The building was named in honor of the woman who donated $1,000 in 1893 for the building’s original construction. The building's prominent tower was the symbol of Taylor University for almost 67 years. Its importance can be seen not only through its representation featured on many Taylor University documents, but also the mention of the building’s tower within the first few lines of the Taylor Song, "Up beyond the village border / Pointing in the air / Stand her towers seen far distant / When the day is fair".The bell in H. Maria Wright's tower served as a pulse for the campus. Beyond marking mealtimes, classes, and curfew, it also rang when Taylor received accreditation in 1947, in honor of campus births and deaths, and signaled the end of both World Wars. The clapper from the bell is housed in Taylor’s Ringenberg Archives & Special Collections. The building was destroyed on January 16, 1960, when a fire broke out in the northeast corner of the ground floor chemistry lab. Though multiple fire departments battled the inferno, the lack of water pressure presented an insurmountable challenge. To this day, the memory and legacy of H. Maria Wright lives on through archival documents, stories from alumni, and photographs.This gallery is an approximate chronological review of the life of H. Maria Wright Hall and its role in Taylor's story.Click on the first image to begin and click on the arrows on the images to browse the gallery.

Grace Husted
Female Faculty During the First 100 Years

Female Faculty During the First 100 Years

This gallery features some of the most impactful women faculty during the first 100 years of Taylor University. Together, these women contributed over 270 years of teaching, administration, and leadership to Taylor’s students, faculty, and staff. They are introduced in order by their starting date.Click on the first image to begin and click on the arrows on the images to browse the gallery.

The Dome Exterior
The Dome

The Dome

Designed by Orus Eash, the Dome is one of the most fascinating buildings on Taylor’s campus. This unique building has served several different roles since its construction in 1958, when it was built to serve as the campus dining hall. Later the Dome, also known as the UFO and the spaceship, was converted into the Student Union, becoming the primary hangout spot for Taylor students until the construction of the LaRita Boren Student Center (completed in 2016). During the covid-19 pandemic, some students considered the building to be home, as it was used as temporary housing for students in isolation. While the future of the Dome remains uncertain, it endures as one of the most iconic structures on Taylor’s campus.Click on the first image to begin and click on the arrows on the images to browse the gallery.

<center><a href="https://175.taylor.edu/" target="_blank"><button type="button" class="btn btn-secondary">Visit Taylor's 175 Celebration Website</button></a></center>