{{ item_info.title }}

This photograph, published in the 1957 Gem, was taken inside the building’s Walker Museum and features the mastodon skeleton discovered three miles from campus by a local farmer. Biology professor Dr. John Furbay led 35 Taylor students in unearthing the skeleton and bringing it to Taylor to display. Walker Museum featured skeletons of other animals—including a bat, lion, and llama, which were used in zoology courses—and it also housed various minerals, fossils, and ores, as well as African artifacts donated by John C. Wengatz (1909).